On The Edge

“On The Edge”

I stood on the edge:

Where the bends of a man-made river
Blends, and collides with the streets
The sound of cars impedes, and infuses
Into our refuses to let the night die

Where the ocean and the sky
Agreed long ago to go separate ways
One would revitalise,
The other would have: space

Where humanity and the mountains collided
To collude, as divided parts, so that
Saturated wild hearts, could dilute their lives
To arrive at the peak, to peak at sunrise

This is where the edges of two years meet
On separate calendar pages,
Even if we treat our days, as though they were some fluke
It still manages to complete the same book

My nose almost touches the door,
Of the fully packed train,
I know more people want to be let in
But I’m focusing too much on my own reflections

Appropriate actions fuelled by good intentions
Am I the only man who cares about them?
I want to allocate my whole life living on the edge
To where man creates his destiny,

And destiny propagates her man

THIS MAN, He will live with: DEFIANCE!
HE WILL HAVE THE HEART OF A MILLION, LIONS!
AS TYRANTS BURN THE WHOLE CITY DOWN TO THE GROUND
HE WILL EXPOUND IDEAS OF
LOVE, HOPE, JOY, PEACE

THE WORLD, THE WORLD THEY TRY TO WASH HIM AWAY
FLOODING HIM THE GREY OF APATHY AND INCORRECT JUDGEMENT
BUT HE WILL SUMMON HIS FAITH,
AND HE WILL PURSUE THE TRUTH, THE WAY, THE LIGHT

HE WILL FIGHT TO THE EDGE
FOR THE REST OF HIS LIFE
GUN TO HIS HEAD
KNIFE TO HIS THROAT
THE BLOOD IN HIS VEINS

TELLS HIM THAT HE IS CLOTHED
IN LOVE. HIS ROBES REPRESENT HOPE
PRESENTED FROM ABOVE
AND TO SERVE HIS MASTER:
IS JOY
NO ENEMY CAN DESTROY THIS
AND NO THIEF IN THE NIGHT CAN DECEIVE OF PRY AWAY
PIECES OF THIS PEACE
GIVEN AS THE FATHER’S GIFT

AT THIS MOMENT THE ENEMY FLEES
HE LEAVES ME ALONE
AS I PRAY ON MY KNEES
AS THOUGH I WAS TALKING TO GOD ON THE PHONE

Send me, send me to the edge
Where I can die with the courage of great men

Defend me, defend me to the edge
I do not have the courage of a grown man

Lionhearted… Silver-spoon
Lionhearted… Silver-spoon

With empty conviction, and intensity
I stood firmly, fearfully on the edge
As the horizon stared back at me

Have the humility of a silver-spoon
Never be immune to the suffering
Of those close to the edge
That is how love, escapes

Have the vulnerability of a silver-spoon
Never assume you have the world figured out
Stand in awe as the clouds whisper all
The secrets about life and more

But with a lionheart, pursue every endeavour
With the sharp senses of a hunter
Attuning to the weaknesses of wild prey
Today, the village will, and must celebrate

Because of the man who stood on the edge
And then, vanished…

 

Leave a Reply

