Hammock Girl

“Hammock Girl”

Hammock girl understands when
I say he’s a beast in the booth
She appreciates how I appreciate Tetsuo and Youth
I tell her she’s my sunshine,
She say she wanna kick & push
I think I want to ride her, more
She just wants to remove her shoes – throw them away like Bush

Write her another rhyme
She cares, she cares about the issues of her time
More than followers and
How she looks on instant Instagram
Cos instantly she looked at me and said: We should hang now
She was free and she had no plans
A lie on her packed weekends – let’s go, I

Spotify away the pounding of my heart
Finding ways to establish a grounding of my feet
Haywire, light head, light headed,
I headed to the place where we were both supposed to meet

You were already there
With that dress you’d said you’ll never wear,
So beautiful, you said you wanted to keep,
it for that one and on that one special day
When you met the man from the mountains,
and the Milky Way
His heart soft and
His dreams were too hard to achieve
But you promised that everything
Everything, else you would leave
This man would be your sole partner,
In love and belief

But in that moment, I did not want to be deceived
Hammock girl was not real – she was a concept,
Conceived within the head of a heart-broken man
Who could only depend on this one plan
to build a better version of himself:

HAMMOCK GIRL WAS THE PRETTY GHOST CHASING HIM,
BREATHING DOWN HIS NECK
TELLING HIM, THAT ONE DAY HE WOULD BE
WORTH MORE THAN THAT,

WHAT HE ONCE WAS, NO MORE OF THAT!

HAMMOCK GIRL SAYS NO MORE OF THAT.
DON’T TEXT AND THEN REGRET.
BEAT YOUR CHEST, BUILD YOUR CHEST,
PUT KNOWLEDGE INTO YOUR HEAD,
YOU CAN BE THE BEST,
DIGEST NEWSPAPER ARTICLES AND BOOKS
DON’T BE AFRAID TO CARE A LITTLE ABOUT YOUR LOOKS.
WRITE POEMS NOT ABOUT HER, PUT YOUR HEART AT REST

GO OUT THERE: CONQUER!
AND BE THE BEST.

Hammock girl looks beautiful on the Hammock
She sings sweetly:
Find the right balance between confidence and cocky
And never again in your life,
Will you ever need me

But promise me, when you find your next love,
You’ll never leave me

Hammock girl,
I will always keep you burning
You are my deepest craving
And longest yearning
You keep my life’s wheels turning

 

 

hammockgirlPhoto was taken in Thailand, Kanachaburi, Army Camp.

Leave a Reply

